Year 12 Curriculum

BucksUTC / Computing / Year 12 Curriculum

Study Computing with Bucks UTC

All students commence their time in Year 12 on the basis they will complete 2 years of study. The starting point for each individual will depend upon the grades they have attained at GCSE (or equivalent). The different programmes of study are outlined below and deliberately flexible so each individual can benefit from as bespoke a course of learning as possible. Students are afforded a greater deal of independence and flexibility in their studies as their curriculum will be personalised to meet their goals.

In addition to the BTEC qualifications, students also get the chance to study highly valued industry leading professional ‘vendor’ qualifications in both Microsoft and Cisco applications. Students will be able to explore and focus in their preferred industry sector and begin to explore career options with potential employers, Further Education and Higher Education Institutions.

Year-by-year, Professional Computing Qualifications

We want our students to be work ready. That’s why we provide industry-recognised, professional qualifications alongside BTECs, so learners have the best chance of pursuing a career in computing. We currently offer Level 2, 3 and 4 (higher education) professional qualifications, and we are the only further-education establishment in the region to provide courses with C++ Institute.

+ - Level 2 Courses Available

  • CompTIA – Fundamentals

– Explaining computer components

– Installing software

– Establishing network connectivity

– Preventing security risks

+ - Level 3 Courses Available

  • Cisco IT Essentials (CompTIA A+)
– Knowledge of how computers and mobile devices operate
– Security threats and vulnerabilities like malware, phishing, spoofing and social engineering
– Install, configure, and troubleshoot computers, mobile devices, and software.
  • Microsoft Office Specialist (MOS)
– Understanding Office
– Using Office
  • Microsoft MTA
– 98-361: MTA: Software Development Fundamentals
  • Cisco CCNA – Parts 1, 2, 3, 4
  • Unity Development Course
– Fundamentals of the Unity3D tool
– C# scripting
– Implement interactive applications
  • CompTIA Linux +
– Linux command line
– Basic maintenance
– Installing and configuring workstations and networking
  • Linux Redhat (Rackspace)
– Redhat Enterprise Linux

+ - Level 4 Courses Available

  • Cisco CCNP
– Route
– Switch
  • Cisco CCNA Security
– Network infrastructure
– Understanding core security concepts
– Managing secure access
– VPN encryption
– Firewalls, intrusion prevention
  • Microsoft MCSA/MCSD
– Programming in C#
– Developing Mobile Apps

Sixth Form Options

Students are welcome to study Computing in our Sixth Form, at either Level 2 or Level 3 entry*.

  • Level 2 entry provides a good introduction to the specialism with a Fundamentals Certificate in Computing. Alongside this, students also have the chance to complete any required GCSE retakes in Maths/English.

  • Level 3 entry offers students with an Extended Diploma in Computing. This is two years of comprehensive computing theory and practical work, complete with professional technical qualifications and industry experience. Alongside, students can also complete optional STEM-related A Levels. Completion of our Level 3 Programme typically progresses onto undergraduate studies or employment.

    *Sixth Form entry routes are dependent on GCSE results. More is explained in the tabs below.

Post-16 Example Timetable PDF   –   Key Stage 5 Curriculum Outline PDF 

+ - Fundamentals Certificate in Computing + GCSE Retakes

  • A Fundamentals Certificate (Level 2 BTEC) is worth 2 GCSEs.

  • Maths and English GCSE retakes are available alongside.

  • Completion of a Fundamentals Certificate supports progression onto Level 3 studies.

  • Industry experience and professional qualifications come provided as part of the UTC learning experience.


We currently offer the following Level 1-2 Fundamentals Certificate in Computing:

  • Level 1-2 Award in Creative Digital Media Production:

– Digital Media Sector

– Planning and Pitching

– Digital Games Production

– Media Industry

– Digital Photography

+ - Extended Diploma in Computing

Extended Diploma in Computing (Level 3)

An Extended Diploma is designed to be studied over a two-year period, and is nationally recognised as a substantial qualification in any programme of study. Students will learn about a broad range of disciplines within the computing industry, whilst gaining professional qualifications and authentic working experience. An Extended Diploma supports progression into higher education and/or employment. Units within the course include:

  • Software Design

  • Computer Theory

  • HCI (Human-Computer Interaction)

  • Creative Applications

  • Web Development

  • Systems Analysis

To view a full outline of units within an Extended Diploma in Computing, please click here.


What skills/qualifications do I need to apply?

The person: You will need to be passionate about cutting-edge technology and innovation, along with good communication and maths skills. Ideally you will have ambition to work within the computing industry or continue in related higher-education studies.

Formal qualifications: It is desired that you have at least 5 GCSEs at A*-C grade, including Maths and English. Alternatively, we can allow entry with a relevant level 2 diploma, and A*-C grades in Maths and English.


How is the course assessed?

The course is assessed through a combination of coursework, assignments, and practical work. All units are graded individually, which add up to a final result. For more information on the Ext. D. grade structure, please click here.


Post-study progression

Completion of an Extended Diploma in Computing, can lead into computing-related employment or undergraduate studies. The course also provides exposure to a wide range of disciplines and careers within the industry, which together with professional qualifications and work experience, greatly supports post-study opportunities.


Is there a fee?

All learners are entitled to a free full-time education, as long as they are under 18 prior to enrollment. For more information, please read these government guidelines.

+ - Additional A Levels

To support students’ studies, learners may take up to two optional A Levels, alongside their BTEC. Please note that an Extended Diploma is already worth the equivalent of three A Levels, therefore acceptance to study A Level, will depend on one’s academic performance. For the 2017-18 academic year, we will be offering:

  • A Level Computer Science

  • A Level Mathematics

  • A Level Physics

  • A Level Chemistry