Year 10 Curriculum

BucksUTC / Computing / Year 10 Curriculum

All students commencing Year 10 in September 2018 will work towards completing their GCSEs alongside their choice of Computing specialism.

Ofsted say: In GCSE computing and vocational information and communications technology (ITC) lessons, teaching .. is .. strong.

The following subjects making up the core of the academic studies:

Compulsory GCSEs*

  • English (Language and Literature)
  • Maths
  • Science (Combined)

Other qualifications*

  • A GCSE in one of the following subjects: History / Triple Science / Computer Science / Spanish


Students choosing Computing also study all of the following level 2 BTEC courses. Each BTEC is worth the equivalent of one GCSE.

BTEC Level 2 Award in Information & Creative – 120GLH

Unit 1 – The Online World
Unit 3 – E Portfolio
Unit 4 – Digital Animation
Unit 7 – Digital Video

BTEC Level 2 Award in Digital Media Production – 120 GLH

Unit 1 – Digital Media sectors and Audiences
Unit 2 – Planning and Pitching
Unit 3 – Digital Moving Image Production
Unit 7 – Digital Games Production

BTEC Level 2 Award in Engineering– 120 GLH

Unit 1 – The Engineered World
Unit 2 – Investigating an Engineering Product
Unit 8 – Electronic Circuit Design and Construction

To hear more about some of the exciting work our students do, please click here.

* These subject offerings may change depending on Government announcements, regulations and the viability of student numbers.

  • Click here to see a diagram that shows the interrelated components of the Year 10 and 11 curriculum
  • Click here for an overview of our Computing curriculum
  • Click here to view our year 10 curriculum map