Local MP presents our first awards evening

Bucks UTC / News  / Local MP presents our first awards evening

Local MP presents our first awards evening

Aylesbury MP David Lidington joined other local dignitaries and partners last week to present our first awards evening. Staff and students were recognised for their outstanding contribution to a successful first year, and over 19 employer sponsored prizes were given out. David visited the school before we opened last September and we were delighted that he agreed to attend our first awards ceremony.

He said: “I was pleased to be able to attend the first annual awards ceremony at Buckinghamshire UTC last week. The students who won awards were clearly hard working and committed to their studies and I wish them all the best for the future.

“It’s just 12 months since Bucks UTC opened but already it is achieving results. The students to whom I spoke liked the way that the curriculum is taught through applied work in IT and construction, and it was encouraging too to talk to local employers who were impressed by the UTC’s approach.”

Of particular note was the presentation of the ‘Mayor’s Award for Student of the Year’, the Cllr Steve Patrick Memorial Cup. This went to year 10 student Joe Bryant, age 15, who is studying IT.

Principal Bev Flanagan commented: “Joe is currently showing an outstanding four levels of progress during his first year with us, which means he is predicted A*-A grades across the board and a Distinction in IT. He is an outstanding student and demonstrates a consistent approach to everything he does at the UTC”.

Other guests included the Mayor of Aylesbury, Cllr Tuffail Hussain; Cllr Mike Smith, Leader of the Council; Keith Gray, Town Clerk; and representatives from Taylor Wimpey, Esri UK, McAfee, Cisco, BAM Nuttall, Advanced Computer Software, Owlsworth, Buckinghamshire Architectural Society, Aylesbury College, Bucks New University and Bucks UTC Governors.




Exceeding Expectations Award – Construction

Harry Evans

Exceeding Expectations Award – Computing

Joe Bennett

Can Do Attitude – Construction 

Jack Leigh

Can Do Attitude – Computing

Nathan Miles

Overall Achievement Construction – Year 10

Zak Cleaver

Overall Achievement – Computing – Year 10 

Chris Crawford

Overall Achievement – Construction Year 12

Henry Goodall

Overall Achievement – Computing Year 12 

Austin Parham

The Taylor Wimpey Award for Overall Construction Student

Felix Turck

Overall Computing Student of the Year

Ryan Stevens

Academic Achievement – Year 10

Povilas Siaulinskas 

Academic Achievement – Year 12

Kyle Beaumont-Smith

Overall Most Improved Student

Tom Wilson

Commitment to Sport Year 10 

Andrew Jones

Commitment to Sport Year 12

Henry Goodall

Mayor’s Award for Student of the Year – Outstanding Achievement

Cllr Steve Patrick Memorial Cup in memory of Cllr Steve Patrick who sadly passed away last year and who dedicated his life to serving the town of Aylesbury and its people.

Joe Bryant

Principal’s Award Year 12

Greg Smith And Connor Sagar

Principal’s Award Year 10

Jerome Graham AND Shola St John Forbes

Teacher of the Year

Alan Bailey